The Event of Awesomeness

aka Alex & Jeremy’s wedding/party

First 19 September 2008

Filed under: Wedding thoughts — Palila @ 11:11

Had the first (of what I hope are very few) wedding-related freakout last weekend, mostly along the lines of “I’ve got so many ideas and I need to execute them all. right. now.”

So, last weekend, while I was at the mall, I saw that ties were on sale for cheaper than I can buy the material. In colors that I might want. And, of course, they’ll never be on sale again. So there were a flurry of texts between me and Jeremy about tie numbers and colors before I came to my senses and told myself that ties will be on sale again, like after Christmas and Father’s Day, and I need to make them myself anyway, so I can print on them before pressing, and ties are really, really easy to make. And if I got them now, we would lose one, or the cat would claw them up and we’d have to shop again or I’d have to make another one. So I went home and had a glass of wine and some cookies.

And then I remembered that we don’t even need ties, we just need the license, officiant and the people we love to get married. Coordinating ties are totally in the “nice to have” category.

After all, it’s just a wedding.

 

3 Responses to “First”

  1. Mom Says:

    Think of this as a practice freakout. There will be more, but your good sense of perspective will win out.

  2. Jo Ann Schoen Says:

    Speaking of officiant, Jeremy mentioned asking Jay to do the ceremony. Does he need a special license for Georgia?

  3. Palila Says:

    I’m not sure. When we asked him, he said that he’d check into that. If he’s not authorized, Matt would be able to do it, or we could go down to the courthouse a few days before.


Leave a Reply

