The Event of Awesomeness

aka Alex & Jeremy’s wedding/party

Dress Shopping #2 2 September 2008

Filed under: Attire,Wedding thoughts — Palila @ 11:31

While in Ft. Wayne before Amber’s wedding, I went to lunch with Janel, and she suggested that we go look at dresses. We went to Touma’s Bridal, since she hadn’t been there and a good friend’s daughter had found her dress there. We were greeted quickly and, since it would be a few minutes before someone was free to help us, we looked around at dresses. We picked a few out, mostly from their train length (short!), skirt style (not poofy!) and weight (light!). That left us with a few nice dresses and the woman was free as we finished going through most of the racks. We went through the remaining racks with her, but didn’t really see anything else. On the way back to the dressing room, I commented that I liked the dress on a form near the front of the store, was it available to try on?

She said, “Of course,” promptly unclipped it and put it in the dressing room. I tried that one on first, and that was it. The sample fit, so no measuring needed, and it felt good. I liked how it fit (comfortable and I could breathe), I liked how it looked (strapless and the band sat at a skinny part of my ribs), how it was constructed (no shiny satin, just lace and beading over it), I liked that it wasn’t really heavy, I liked that I could sit and move in it, and wouldn’t have to worry about eating too much in it. She plopped a veil on me, and it all just worked together. Love!

We tried a few more dresses, but none of them worked like that first one. It was decided- the dress had been found!

I wasn’t too sure about the veil. Although it completed the look and went really well with the dress, it cost more than my router, and that’s too much for some beaded tulle. I’m thinking maybe just a plain ribbon, a comb or a veil from a vintage shop would work just as well, if not better.

 

5 Responses to “Dress Shopping #2”

  1. Eva Says:

    If you are looking for a veil, I have a never-before-worn one at home that is looking for a head to sit on, even if only for a few hours. I have no idea what it looks like, but just in case.

  2. George Says:

    Or you could throw a sheet over your head. but you do need something borrowed…

  3. Palila Says:

    Thanks, Eva!

    And good point, George.

  4. janel harper Says:

    I’m not a veil person, but that veil looked stunning on you!!
    I think you’ll be able to come up with something as beautiful for a lot less money, but if not I know where to get “the veil”.

  5. janel harper Says:

    I forgot to mention how beautiful Alex looked in “The Dress”.


Leave a Reply

